World Movie Awards Australia promotes the safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage (ICH) and honors professional excellence in cinema. 

In support of the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization’s (UNESCO) Convention for the Safeguarding of the Intangible Cultural Heritage, the World Movie Awards Organization and its subsidiaries will confer awards on motion pictures that incorporate and promote the safeguarding of the ICH elements on the lists of the Intangible Cultural Heritage and the Register of Good Safeguarding Practices.

Countries that are not on the list of UNESCO‘s ICH elements can still promote the safeguarding of their cultural artifacts for consideration.

What is an Intangible Cultural Heritage?

The word Intangible is immaterial, referring to something untouchable. Culture is the traditional values that define who you are and your identity. Heritage is a precious thing that is passed down from one generation to another. In short, intangible cultural heritage is the traditional values, living expressions, and customs that are transmitted from one generation to the next. 

Why is the Intangible Cultural Heritage important?

Intangible Cultural Heritage plays essential roles in:

– Promoting tolerance, peace, and reconciliation

– Fostering community and individual well-being

– Promoting human rights and sustainable development

Don't have an account?


Translate »